Attendance Policy

Attendance Policy

You are receiving this letter because the Texas Education Code 25.085 requires that we send notice. In Texas, students are required to attend at least 90% of the school days. If your child accrues excessive absences excused or unexcused, one or a combination of the following will occur.

A transfer student may be sent back to their home district.

 Students who exceed the number of absences allowed per year may be allowed to complete make-up hours after school and/or during Saturday school with the following provisions.

1.     A total of 24 hours (3 days) per semester may be completed for class credit purposes.

2.     Students who exceed the number of allowed absences will not receive credit for that semester.

3.     All make-up hours must be completed before the last week of instruction in the semester in which the absences occurred.

4.     While completing make-up hours, the student must comply with the rules for detention and Saturday school.

5.     Extenuating circumstances will be considered on an individual basis by campus administration.


The district will accept parent notes and excuse absences 3 times per semester.  To be excused, all other absences require documentation from a medical professional.  Absences outside of the control of the student and parent such as family funerals will be considered individually by the principal and attendance committee.

The Truancy may result in assessment of penalties by a court of law against both the parent and the student

If a student is absent from school on ten or more days or parts of days within a six month period. The student is subject to prosecution under Section 25.094 and the parent is subject to prosecution under Section 25.093 of the Texas Education Code.

If for some reason you do not receive a copy of this notice, TEA Code Section 25.093 states: the fact that a person did not receive a notice under this section does not create a defense against prosecution under Sections 25.093 or 25.094.